Shot to the Face

The Shot to the Face 72 Hour Film Festival was a short film competition and live music event that was hosted at the historic Capitol Theater in Olympia, WA in 2008 and 2009. Contestants were given 72 hours to write, shoot, and edit a short film for playback at the festival event where prominent local educators and artists would then vote on them and choose winners.  There were between 20 and 30 entries each year, with around 400 in attendance for the screenings.  Musical guests have included Broken WaterGoogle Maps, and The Tasteful Nudes, among others.

Shot to the Face was concieved by Zach Kreinik and Cooper Sloan- funded by a grant from the S&A board of The Evergreen State College.  Local sponsors and the Olympia Film Society both provided help in a multitude of ways.  Gavin Dahl provided endless support establishing the event in 2008. Special thanks to Audrey and Joaquin at OFSPat Castaldo, Bridget Irish, Diana Arens, Colleen Dixon, Chico Herbison, Mary Craven, Alex Mavrikis, The Weekly VolcanoThe Olympian, Riley Sloan, Adam Fleischmann, Ray Meuhlman, and everyone else that contributed to making this event so great for 2 years!

Thank you to our sponsors- K Records, Northwest Film Forum, Scarecrow Video, Orca Books, Danger Room Comics, Bicycle Records

Capitol Theater Marquee

website   press   photos


[ ed. note- unfortunately some of the miniDV tapes from both years were lost in a fateful gunpoint robbery/paul neuman themed beer pong party on the west side of oly in 2011. I’m doing what I can to piece together the entries I can find on Youtube and from the other copies I had. Please email me if you have any of them on DVD or tape! ]

2008 Entries

1. “Stand for Freedom” by Team USA
Otis Sherman, Jayson Ball, Nick Lee, Ryan Sargeant
1st Place Judge’s Category
1st Place People’s Choice Category

2. “P Style”
Kanako Wynkoop, Heather Hall, Lindsey Salls
2nd Place Judge’s Category

3. “Absence Teunbles” by Fran Agaard
Nick Thomas, Jessica Goheen, Max Bert
3rd Place Judge’s Category

4. “Chet’s Last Beer Bong” by Virginia Slits
Tyler Ball, Martin Hogan, Zach Dunlap
2nd Place People’s Choice

5. “A Trip 2 Tha Farm”
David Weinberg, Jared Arave

6. “Portland”

7. “Fungus Among Us” by Dream Team 08
Alex Kozlow and Sam Mascari

8. “I’m So Lonely” by The Duke Army
Rose and burgessoise

9. “Sweet Adeline”
Abby Williamson, Ian Keliher, Laura Alstad, Libby Williamson

10. “Bog Monster” by Team Lakefish
Per Berg and Corey Grams

11. “Dirty Water”
Aaron Meola director’s cut

12. “I Am So Lonely” by The Duke Army
Rose Thor, Nathan Burgess

13. “Mitsukete: Please, Find Me” by Team Kosovire
Carlos Alonso, Marie Saito, Fransisco Andres Jumenez

14. “Heartstruck” by Mediaworksterz
Isaac Rivelle, Michaela Havschulz

15. “Aggressive Negotiations” by Team MPS
Milo Price, David Price, Nora Price, Midge Price

16. “Patriarchy from a Shoe’s Point of View”
T, Alvina Wong

17. “Majikat” – Majikat Crusaders
Belinda Man

18. “Cremaster 2012″ by Team Fink
Afsha Rozzell, Michael Weerts

19. “Jolkitron 9000″ by Team Zardoz
Trevor Allen Gagner, Lance Gagner, Dusty Gagner, Ian Taylor, Chris Rogers

20. “4 Minute Journey About Clocks”
Kenrick Ward, Erin Tannar, Nick O.

21. “I’ll See You Then, My Love”
Rob Rostad, Jamey Roberts

22. “To Infinity and Beyond” by Little Lesbians
Colin Wintz, Eric Marantz, Alex Clark McGlen, David Cleeland

23. “untitled” by Team Awesome
Alexis Wolff, Justas Osmer, Jamaria Daniels, Cassandra Kuring, Jake Anderson

24. “untitled” by Team School Spirit
Dan Smith, Sam Schroeder


2009 Entries

1. “Death Bear” by Wuthering Hype
Tyler Ball, Sophie Hakala

2. “My Most Speshylst Friend” by Team Happy Fun Magic
Cole Miller, Gail Adams, Darlene Adams, Sam Grey

3. “The Mutant Waters of the Evergreen State College” by Team Mathias Bartlett
Mathias Bartlett

4. “More Fruits & Fairer Flowers” by Land of the Lost
Zach Weintraub and Nandan Rao

5. “180 Grados” by Sacred Dragons
Piers Rippey, Heidi Barta-Cole, Nicolas Lofredo Rota

6. “Breathing Room” by Team Dirk Diggler
Matt “Gimpy” Olson

7. “Cremaster 873″ by Team Fink
Michael Weerts, Afsha Rozzell

8. “Moopie the Charlses” by Mallard and the Common Loon
Dideo Mathis and Plaster Harris

9. “Mom” by Chantal Chantal
Kanako Wynkoop

10. “The Blackest of Reds” by Verdome
Corey Doerscher, Nathan Chinn, Stephen Braigen

11. “The No Music Show” by The Corrections Officers
Jefferson Elliot, Mahta Shakib

12. “Untitled” by Team Whatsherface
Kamaria Daniel, Alexis Wolf, Jacob Anderson, Justice Ozmer, Dezi Rose

13. “A Motley Crew” by Modern Love
Otis Sherman, Scott Moen, Jayson Ball, Ryan Sargeant, Nick Lee

14. “Slut Party” by Team Beat
Jaden Maher, Elise Harper, Amber Rose

15. “The Importance of Being Urnest” by Team Bear Land
Emma Touar, Alex Kaylan, Tenzin Lhaze

16 .”The Record” by Face Shooters
Celena Adler, Forest Bright, Brian Fligner

17. “Fir” by Etc.
Aris Chagoya, John Farinell, Gabe Balogh

18. “Video Games” by Well-Dressed People
Abby Williamson, Libby Williamson, Laura Alvestad

19. “In Search of Imps” by Lye Burned Babies
Alex Kime, Jessie Meliza, Greer Kofoed, Freddy Dobler